Quick Answer: What Is The New Exempt Salary Threshold?

What is the NYS exempt salary threshold?

2020 Changes to Minimum Wage and Overtime Exempt Salary ThresholdGeographic Location2020 Salary Threshold*NYC$1,125.00 per week ($58,500.00 annually)Nassau, Suffolk, and Westchester counties$975.00 per week ($50,700.00 annually)Remainder of NY$885.00 per week ($46,020.00 annually)Jan 6, 2020.

Do exempt employees have to use PTO?

Exempt Salaried with PTO If an exempt, salaried employee has PTO as part of their benefits package, generally you can require them to use it to cover their absences. … Deductions of pay are permissible under FLSA regulations if your exempt, salaried employees have exhausted their PTO benefits.

Can you put salaried employees on furlough?

From a compliance point of view, the safest way to furlough exempt employees is to require them to take unpaid time off in full-week increments. Employers must ensure the furloughed exempt employees do not perform any work during the week.

Can you be fired while on furlough?

A furloughed public employee retains their employment rights. Government employees cannot be fired or replaced without process. For a public employee who has been furloughed, rather than laid off, this means that they have a presumptive right to return to that position if they choose and it exists.

A week is defined as a fixed time period of 168 hours, or seven consecutive 24-hour days. Even if you are paid every two weeks, if you qualify for overtime, you can’t be required to work 60 hours one week and 20 hours the next, without being paid overtime for the week you worked beyond 40 hours.

The rule increases the salary threshold for employees exempt under the executive, administrative, and professional exemptions (the “white collar exemptions”) from $455 per week (or $23,660 annually) to $684 per week (or $35,568 annually).

What is the current salary threshold for exempt employees?

The final rule takes effect on January 1, 2020 and raises the current minimum salary level for exempt employees from $455 per week or $23,660 annually, to $684 per week or $35,568 annually.

What is the minimum salary 2020?

$13 per hourOn January 1, 2020, California’s statewide minimum wage will increase to $13 per hour for employers with 26 or more employees and $12 per hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees. This latest increase will move California one step closer to its goal of a $15 per hour minimum wage.

What is the new federal law on salaried employees?

The new rule requires that exempt salaried employees must be paid at least $684 per week, or $35,568 annually. Employees who do not meet this salary level must be classified as non-exempt, and be paid overtime for all hours worked over 40 in a workweek. Employers have two compliance options: Raise Salary.

Can exempt employees be forced to work holidays?

You are not required to pay non-exempt employees for holidays. … The Fair Labor Standards Act does not permit employers to dock the salary of an exempt employee for holidays. You can make a holiday unpaid for exempt employees, but it will jeopardize their exempt status, at least for that week.

Can exempt employees take half days?

Deductions for partial day absences generally violate the salary basis rule, except those occurring in the first or final week of an exempt employee’s employment or for unpaid leave under the Family and Medical Leave Act. … The exempt employee must receive a full day’s pay for the partial day worked.

Do salaried employees get paid if they do not work?

Subject to exceptions listed below, an exempt employee must receive the full salary for any week in which the employee performs any work, regardless of the number of days or hours worked. Exempt employees do not need to be paid for any workweek in which they perform no work.

What qualifies as an exempt employee 2020?

Employees who are classified as exempt must receive a salary of at least $684 per week by January 1, 2020. However, many employers don’t have workweeks that will begin on January 1, 2020, which is a Wednesday.

Do exempt employees have to work 8 hours a day?

Most employers expect their exempt employees to work the number of hours necessary to get their jobs done. It doesn’t matter if that takes more or fewer than 40 hours per week. Even if your exempt employee works 70 hours in a week, you are still only required to pay them their standard base salary.

Can I be put back on furlough?

In short, yes you can go back on to furlough after you have been removed from the scheme – workers who were furloughed and have since returned to work can be furloughed again if their business is forced to close.

Do exempt employees have to make up time?

Exempt employees need not be paid for any workweek in which they perform no work. … If the employee is ready, willing and able to work, deductions may not be made for time when work is not available. Part-Day Absences. The federal courts have held that you cannot dock pay for absences of less than a day.

What is the minimum you can pay a salaried employee?

$23,600 per yearThe minimum salary requirement for exempt employees according to the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) is $23,600 per year or $455 per week. However, the exempt salary minimum alone does not classify an employee as exempt. Salary level is one of three tests used to determine employee exempt status.

Do you get benefits on furlough?

In most cases, employees do not receive a salary while they are furloughed. However, they often keep their employment benefits like health insurance during the time they are not working. … You may be able to apply for unemployment benefits while you are furloughed.